One man’s love is another man’s question mark…

by expack3

Recently, I discovered an awesome bit of British culture which is what happens when you take H.G. Wells’ War of the Words novel, turn it into a rock opera, and have it performed by an orchestral-electronica hybrid band (think Manheim Steamroller). However, I will say that I’ve found one problem when trying to talk to people about it – they’ve never heard of it. AT ALL. To demonstrate what I mean, I’m going to ask for a quick raise of hands.

Who recognizes at least something in this image?

Doctor Who

…hmm, that’s a lot of hands raised. I figured as much – Doctor Who is a worldwide phenomenon, after all.

Now, who recognizes this image?

Jeff Wayne's Musical Version of The War of the Worlds

…nobody? Well, that figures. How about this one?

Still nothing? See, here’s my problem. Jeff Wayne’s Musical Version of The War of the Worlds, aside from having one of the longest official album titles in modern music history, is seemingly unheard of in the United States. This, in spite of it being #38 on the UK’s official “Top 40 biggest selling albums of all-time” list…

…oh. Wait a minute. I just realized something.

Everything I'd Tell You Is Culturally Relevant TO THE UNITED KINGDOM

Kinda hard to expect my Yankee friends to understand a British thing, ain’t it?

Given this, it’s not surprising that my friends, most of whom were born and raised in America, haven’t heard about an album which has never been as popular in America as it has been overseas, let alone performed poorly in America compared with other countries. (http://www.thewaroftheworlds.com/thestory/default.aspx, Chapater 14, Page 142)

So, there you have it, ladies and gentlemen: the brief story of how one man’s love is another man’s question mark.

